Skip to the content.

Study Guide

The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (CLF-C01) exam is intended for individuals who can effectively demonstrate an overall knowledge of the AWS Cloud independent of a specific job role. The exam validates a candidate’s ability to complete the following tasks:

Target candidate description

The target candidate should have 6 months, or the equivalent, of active engagement with the AWS Cloud, with exposure to AWS Cloud design, implementation, and/or operations. Candidates will demonstrate an understanding of well-designed AWS Cloud solutions.

The target candidate should have the following knowledge:

What is considered out of scope for the target candidate?

The following is a non-exhaustive list of related job tasks that the target candidate is not expected to be able to perform.These items are considered out of scope for the exam:

Exam content

Response types

There are two types of questions on the exam:

Unanswered questions are scored as incorrect; there is no penalty for guessing. The exam includes 50 questions that will affect your score.

Unscored content

The exam includes 15 unscored questions that do not affect your score. AWS collects information about candidate performance on these unscored questions to evaluate these questions for future use as scored questions. These unscored questions are not identified on the exam.

Exam results

The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam is a pass or fail exam. The exam is scored against a minimum standard established by AWS professionals who follow certification industry best practices and guidelines.

Your results for the exam are reported as a scaled score of 100–1,000. The minimum passing score is 700. Your score shows how you performed on the exam as a whole and whether or not you passed. Scaled scoring models help equate scores across multiple exam forms that might have slightly different difficulty levels.

Your score report may contain a table of classifications of your performance at each section level. This information is intended to provide general feedback about your exam performance. The exam uses a compensatory scoring model, which means that you do not need to achieve a passing score in each section. You need to pass only the overall exam.

Each section of the exam has a specific weighting, so some sections have more questions than others. The table contains general information that highlights your strengths and weaknesses. Use caution when interpreting section-level feedback. Passing candidates will not receive this additional information.


Domain 1: Cloud Concepts

Define the AWS Cloud and its value proposition

Identify aspects of AWS Cloud economics

Explain the different cloud architecture design principles

Domain 2: Security and Compliance

Define the AWS shared responsibility model

Define AWS Cloud security and compliance concepts

Identify AWS access management capabilities

Identify resources for security support

Domain 3: Technology

Define methods of deploying and operating in the AWS Cloud

Define the AWS global infrastructure

Identify the core AWS services

Identify resources for technology support

Domain 4: Billing and Pricing

Compare and contrast the various pricing models for AWS (for example, On-Demand Instances, Reserved Instances, and Spot Instance pricing)

Recognize the various account structures in relation to AWS billing and pricing

Identify resources available for billing support

AWS Official Guide Reference Link: